Writing Prompts: Language is a Virus

http://www.languageisavirus.com/

I found this website a few months ago, and I used it today to boost my creativity and to warm-up. Language is a Virus contains writing prompts, games, and more creative writing tools. The prompts are chosen at random. Here are the prompts that I got:

  1. What compliments do you receive regularly?
  2. Write a bestiary (a poem about real and mythical animals).
  3. Describe ways in which your character does or doesn’t show hospitality.

Below are my responses:


Prompt #1: What compliments do you receive regularly?

Many people tell me that I’m nice and friendly. I also get compliments on my eyes, which are blue and seem to brighten sometimes. Adults often say that I am polite and mature for my age.

Prompt #2Write a bestiary (a poem about real and mythical animals).

Forced to claim the bare earth as its home,

A matted mess of straw gazes at them all,

The majestic horses with wings

Soaring over spacious skies.

Prompt #3: Describe ways in which your character does or doesn’t know hospitality.

*I recently began writing about this character. I’m working on a novel for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).*

My character, Evelyn, is sixteen years old, forced to live alone due to a tragedy. She shows hospitality in unique ways. She is extremely kind to anyone who is struggling because she knows how it feels; however, she is often unfriendly due to her troubles with daily life. Because Evelyn doesn’t have much money or possessions, she can’t partake in what most people would consider as hospitality: giving people a place to stay, welcoming them into her home, etc.


I loved writing these prompts. They were really interesting and fun.

I mentioned that I am writing a novel. I’m participating in National Novel Writing Month. The goal set is to write 50,000 words by November 30th. You can participate in the full contest or do the Young Writer’s Program, which allows you to set your own goals in word count, classifying more as a novella. You can find the website here: http://nanowrimo.org/dashboard

Here is the link to my novel (it is not completed, but my word count will be updated): http://nanowrimo.org/participants/windowofsnowfall/novels/evelyn-784379

-Heather 🙂

About heatherd001

Hello! My name is Heather. I'm sixteen years old and I love to write (poems mostly) but I'm working on some story- and novel-writing. Writing is a creative outlet for me.
This entry was posted in Writing Exercises and Prompts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

