Addressing The Writer’s Wall: Self-Criticism

You are completely ecstatic about your novel. You create
compelling characters. You think of an exciting setting. Everything seems perfect…until your writing reaches a dead end.

So, you crumble it.

Source: onlineincometeacher.net

Source: onlineincometeacher.net

Don’t do that.

Open the paper back up. It doesn’t matter if it’s a bit ripped. The idea matters. Remember that the best writers started somewhere.

Self-criticism can cause you to see a great idea as an awful idea. Bottom line, it threatens your development as a writer.

I struggle with it. I’m my worst critic. Here are some things that go through my mind when I write:

Will others like this? Is the plot interesting enough? 

You can’t write that; it’s completely unimaginative and stupid.

I haven’t been writing for very long, at least not seriously. I wrote a lot when I was younger. Most days, I played with my dolls or wrote. I had friends, but I enjoyed being by myself.  Even though some people thought I was weird, I was just being myself.

Writing acted as an outlet for all of my thoughts, emotions, and dreams. It was my safe haven, a way for me to reveal myself creatively. And it still is. At my best, I feel like I am my characters. My voice shines through, and ideas just come to me.

Why can’t it be like that all the time?

It can be. I’m working on telling myself that. And you should too.

Write about what you want. Write for yourself. Don’t let that critic put you down.

Source: oprah.com

Source: oprah.com

About heatherd001

Hello! My name is Heather. I'm sixteen years old and I love to write (poems mostly) but I'm working on some story- and novel-writing. Writing is a creative outlet for me.
This entry was posted in Reflections and Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

