To of my followers in the US, happy National Poetry Month! And if you don’t live in the US, it’s perfectly fine to participate! 

Here is a link to some information: http://m.poets.org/national-poetry-month/national-poetry-month-faq

In addition to my own poems (I’m trying to write more of them), I’m going to post my thoughts on as much poetry as I can get my hands on.

I stayed up late today because I procrastinated in starting my spring break assignment: analyzing poetry. As much as I hate analyzing, it wasn’t too bad. I didn’t finish, but I will tomorrow. That doesn’t matter. What really matters is the amazing poem I read. It’s called “Adolescence – III” and was written by contemporary poet Rita  Dove. 

Rita Dove wrote three part of “Adolescence”. The textbook I read it from only had the third part, and I will definitely read the other two.

What stood out to me? The imagery and emotions. The narrator wrapped a childhood dress around her knee, indicating damage. Instead of straight-out saying that her father was crying, Dove wrote that he carried a bowl of tears.

So I tried to apply this in my previous poem, “Dreams.” Emotional connections make all the difference.

About heatherd001

Hello! My name is Heather. I'm sixteen years old and I love to write (poems mostly) but I'm working on some story- and novel-writing. Writing is a creative outlet for me.
This entry was posted in Reflections and Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

