Excerpt From “A License to Breathe”

A little bit of background. This is just my favorite part of my novel-in-progress. I’m proud of this because it’s really descriptive. 🙂 


 “Then why am I still here if you determined that I was fine? Why?” I threw the white, wrinkled sheets off of my body. The sweat on my skin reminded me of bubbling anger, of adrenaline; of running away with Alex.
“You’re not normal, alright? This is where I’m being frank. You did not respond to the treatment at all, so you go straight to Dr. Lek. No exceptions.”
Then I thought about Sadie, who had changed so much in just a few hours from a broken girl to a strong, happy girl. How did it happen? The medicine. And I had been given the same thing-I knew it-and it did nothing. No exceptions. He seemed so sure of himself.
“So as soon as you get well, we are going to pack up your belongings, bring you upstairs in Mr. Lek’s office and floor, and get Alex. Before you go, we will let you see your mother.” He clapped and got out of his chair. “Okay, well, you are obviously doing better. We will go shortly.”
I slowly hoisted myself off of the creaky bed, unsure of my health and physical state. My legs wobbled under the weight of my body, but I could walk. Blood rushed to my head, and I felt alive for the first time in a while.
I squinted my eyes as the light met them. I felt as if reality was being poured into my vision. Finally, something real was in front of me. I guessed that it was sunset; the clouds moved quickly inward to the developing moon. Sunset was coming soon.
Sparkling lights of the city enhanced its beauty; the various sounds comforted me. This told me that the world had not been destroyed by these mad scientists-yet. I reveled in its peace.
Sadie, I hope you are enjoying yourself out there. I hope you dream of the city lights tonight. Because I will, too.
I sketched an outline of Sadie’s blonde hair and toothy grin and vowed to never let it leave my memory, along with the kisses I shared with Alex the night before everything fell apart.
Tonight, I told myself, was the last night of sleep I was going to get without Alex. The last night of being afraid. The last night of feeling psychologically distorted. The last night of being alone.

About heatherd001

Hello! My name is Heather. I'm sixteen years old and I love to write (poems mostly) but I'm working on some story- and novel-writing. Writing is a creative outlet for me.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

