Friend

I remember you.

I met you about a year and a half ago.

We met under the same circumstance:

Pain.

You were the friend that I needed.

You were the friend that pushed me

Through the hard times

We both understood so deeply.

I told you that I liked to read.

I missed my books.

So you gave me

Two;

When it was time to return them

You refused

And your face lit up in a grin.

We drew each other pictures,

Sat together on those tiny cushions,

Talked about our lives back home,

In a small but burdensome town.

We even joked about how ironic it was

That you got strep throat

Even in a hospital.

You told me that I was strong,

Even in the darkest times.

You made that long month less of a

Living hell.

But of course I remember when you cried.

My heart broke when you cried.

If I saw you again, I would tell you

How strong you are.

I would tell you thank you

For drawing pictures for me (that I still have)

And singing our cares away.

It made the constant chaos a little more bearable.

NOTE: The dashes are there because the stanzas wouldn’t separate.

About heatherd001

Hello! My name is Heather. I'm sixteen years old and I love to write (poems mostly) but I'm working on some story- and novel-writing. Writing is a creative outlet for me.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

